new baby · new parents · welcome

Welcome to motherhood!

It’s been seven months two weeks and three days since I gained the title of Mama. Thirty two weeks and three days of nappy changing. Two hundred and thirty days of breastfeeding and expressing at odd hours and in strange places. Five thousand five hundred and twenty hours of wondering if I’m doing it right. (I could keep going but you get the point) It‘s an experience that has taught me alot about life I assumed I knew already. 

There’s been ups and downs, tears (a fair few)  laughs, tantrums (mainly me) sleepless nights, hair loss, chapped nipple’s, leaking nipple’s, poop, puke and pee (sometimes all at the same time)

Alot of what we have been brought as a family has been amazing. Some of it has been scary. Some bits have been so dang trying I’m amazed we made it through the night. 

But as difficult as all that has been, the hardest part has been other people. When we are in our own world as the three amigos (it’s cheesy I know but who doesn’t love cheese) most of the time our lives are great in the crazy way we’ve come to know it. When other people join in though, life resembles a snowglobe. 

I mean I love my family and friends, honestly I do. The problem is though is that so many of them have an opinion on your parenting style and the decisions you make. 

EVERYONE has an opinion on parenting, regardless to how many (or few) children they have. EVERYONE knows what’s best for you, for your partner, for your baby, your house, your job, the neighbours cat … 

You are the only person living your life though, and only you can decide what works best for you, your life and your family. It’s taken me two hundred and thirty days to work that out. 

Love and hugs,

Hayleigh xo

10 thoughts on “Welcome to motherhood!

  1. Congrats on your little one, and welcome to motherhood! My daughter is two and a half now, and though people will try to scare you with theories of the ‘terrible twos’ I find them much easier than having a newborn πŸ™‚ You will be there before you know it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree that the newborn stage is the hardest!!! The twos are bearable if you can manage tantrums. (And there are ways….) You are so right that parents are the only people raising the kid! You do you, let them do them. πŸ™‚
    I also think that life gets harder when we try to go over to the grandparents’ house or have them over or friends over. The schedule changes throw my kids off big time, especially regarding naps and meals. I mean, we NEED to be together with family, but it always is a challenge in many ways.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes – it’s always a long, tiring day (even if it’s fun). When we visit my in-laws, we have to drive 1h15m back home, and it’s usually at about 5 or 6pm, so of course my kids nap in the car … which means bedtime is never easy!!! Sigh…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh I know you always hope they won’t sleep and when they do you pray it will be a quick transfer from seat to bed but it always results in a late night and tantrums πŸ˜‚ if nothing else it strengthens us … Though usually it calls for a sneaky drink to reward ourselves for making it through xo

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on your beautiful baby and welcome to motherhood. You are absolutely right… “it’s not all nice” and I too had to deal with all the OPINIONSSSS… that was the worst part. Don’t get me wrong and it was all in my best interest as a new mom but my was it overwhelming. After I gave birth I had to order everyone out of my room, because everyone had something to say. Feed the baby, Don’t hold his head this way, drink lots of water, keep him on breast milk, don’t keep him on breast milk, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh it was crazy… 11 years after and I survived. My only advice to you will be when it gets bumpy and it will, take a breather then jump right back in. It truly is a rewarding experience, one that I could only afford to experience ONCE…!!! lol… congrats again…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

