fed is best · happiness · recovery

Hunger!

I have learned alot of things since becoming a mama. I’ve learned that the days I though I had no sleep were actually full night’s sleep to some. I’ve learned that parents cannot control every move their children make, sometimes they scream because they like to. And recently I’ve learned what hunger is.

Having worked through an eating disorder I understandably forgot what hunger was. I surpressed the feeling for so long that I no longer realised what it was to feel hungry. Then pregnancy came along. As baby grew so did my appetite, as she had a growth spurt I learned to eat real portions. Once baby was here my appetite spiked as she strehed. With each growth spurt came a period of unnatural hunger.

No one told me about how my appetite would change. And until now it has taken alot of work to come to terms with. I was constantly tearing myself up for eating so much. I knew I had to eat but did I really have to eat all I was? I felt guilty for feeding myself. For doing something natural.

I’ve learned to listen to my body. It’s okay to provide your body with what it needs. It’s okay to nurture yourself. It’s important to look after yourself. And I’m trying to do just that. I’m doing my best to give my body what it needs and to be okay with that.

It takes time to come to terms with things. Especially when there’s lots of new things happening at the same time, but gradually I’m becoming okay with being hungry. Within time I hope that it doesn’t take work to be okay with eating whatever and when ever, but till then it’s one day at a time.

If you feel you need any support in anything discussed please do not hesitate to contact someone. And remember you are amazing and you are doing great.

Love and hugs,

Hayleigh xo

Don’t be ashamed to ask for help. B-eat UK offer a range of support day and night.

Leave a Reply

