food · homemade · weaning

Dinner time!

So tonight’s called for family dinner. Gran and papa (Scott’s mum and dad) came round to say hello for a while and we made dinner whilst they spent time with monkey. It was Scott’s turn to pick dinner so carbonara was on the menu.

Now I’m just gonna say that in no way am I claiming this is an authentic carbonara, it’s just how I make it and the version our family loves.

So you will need:

Garlic – 3 cloves

Onion – 1/2 white Italian (any onion you prefer will work)

creme fraiche – 200g

mascarpone – 175g

Low salt veg stock cube – 1 (can use chicken if only for meat eaters)

Pepper and mixed herbs to taste

Spaghetti roughly 2/3 of a packet

Parmesan (vegetarian) to taste

Chicken and bacon for the meat eaters -as much as they may like

I had quorn pieces because I fancied it.

Pop on a pan of spaghetti. It’s up Soto you if you add salt, we don’t because baby eats with us.

So chop the garlic and onion finely, or cheat and use a fine grater to grate the garlic like I do. Sweat it off in a pan then crumble in the stock cube with your seasoning and about 40 ml of water. Once this reduces again then add your creme fraiche, mascarpone and parmesan and stir until it starts to thicken.

By this point the pasta should be ready, you want it to still have bite, please don’t over cook it you don’t want slop. Drain the pasta but keep back around half a cup of the water to add to the sauce. Mix the pasta into the sauce and heat through for a few more minutes. I tend to let it sit for about 5 minutes with a lid on before serving so the sauce is nice and thick.

This is when I cook off meat for Scott and if I fancy it quorn for myself and he monkey. Add to the meals and serve.

This is one of my favourite quick dinners as it’s filling and you can feed a lot at once.

Let me know if you give it a try, and enjoy.

Love and hugs,

Hayleigh xo

Leave a Reply

